Village of Melrose January 15, 2020

The Village of Melrose held its annual Caucus on Wednesday, January 15, 2020 at 6:30 PM at the Village Hall. The purpose of the Caucus was to secure nominees for an April 7, 2020 election, where three Village Board Trustees will be elected in addition to one Village President. The three Trustee seats under consideration in the April election are presently held by Trustee Ben Boardman, Trustee Terry Nordstrom, and one vacant Trustee position. The Village President seat under consideration is presently held by Brant Young.

The Village President opened the Caucus by reading the Notice of Caucus.

Since Village President Brant Young is up for election, he was not able to serve as Caucus Chairperson. President Young asked for a volunteer for someone to be the Caucus Chairperson, or asked someone to nominate a Chairperson. Mike Murray nominated Ramon Knudtson, seconded by Ben Boardman. Brant then asked if there were any other nominations. Due to no other nominations, Ramon came to the front and opened nominations for two Caucus Tellers.

- -Brant Young nominated Nikki Gilbertson, seconded by Mike Murray.
- -Brant Young nominated Mike Murray, seconded by Ben Boardman.

Ramon asked if there were any other nominations three times. There were no other nominations for Caucus Teller. Motion made by Brant Young for nominations for tellers to be closed, seconded by Mike Murray.

Caucus Chairperson Knudtson opened nominations for Village President:

-Mike Murray nominated Brant Young, seconded by Terry Nordstrom.

Caucus Chairman Knudtson asked if there were any other nominations. He then asked an additional three times. Motion made by Ben Boardman for nominations for Village President to be closed, seconded by Mike Murray.

Caucus Chairperson Knudtson opened nominations for Village Trustees:

- -Ben Boardman nominated Terry Nordstrom, seconded by Brant Young.
- -Mike Murray nominated Ben Boardman, seconded by Nikki Gilbertson.
- -Mike Murray nominated Michael Baldwin, seconded by Nikki Gilbertson.
- -Brant Young nominated Anthony Proft, seconded by Terry Nordstrom.

Caucus Chairman Knudtson asked if there were any other nominations. He then asked an additional three times. Motion made by Brant Young for nominations for Village Trustees to be closed, seconded by Mike Murray.

Knudtson advised that the Nomination paperwork needs to be received back to the clerk within 5 days, to be eligible for the ballot.

Mike Murray motioned to adjourn the Caucus, seconded by Nikki Gilbertson. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

The Caucus adjourned at 6:36 PM.

Casie Renning, Village Clerk