Village of Melrose January 3, 2024

The Village of Melrose held its annual Caucus on Wednesday, January 3, 2024 at 5:30pm in the Village Hall. The purpose of the Caucus was to secure nominees for an April 2nd, 2024 election, where three Village Board Trustees will be elected. The three Trustee seats under consideration in the April election are presently held by Trustee Dan Stern, Trustee Tory Lockington, and Trustee Sylva Hanson.

Village President Ben Boardman opened the Caucus by reading the Notice of Caucus.

Village President Boardman then asked for a nomination for Caucus Chairperson. Dan Stern made a motion to nominate Clifftin Stanton for Caucus Chairperson with a second by Sylva Hanson. Clifftin Stanton then opened nominations for two Tellers to Canvas the vote.

- -Katie Manske nominated Dan Stern, with a second by Sylva Hanson.
- -Ben Boardman nominated Katie Manske, with a second by Sylva Hanson.

Caucus Chairperson Stanton asked if there were any other nominations. There were no other nominations for Caucus Teller. Hearing none, Stanton announced that the nominations for Caucus teller were closed.

Caucus Chairperson Stanton asked the public how they would like to handle a tie, if a tie should occur during the caucus. The public discussed the situation and it was decided the public would flip a coin. Motion made by Sylva Hanson and seconded by Dan Stern to flip a coin.

Caucus Chairperson Stanton opened nominations for Village Trustees:

- -Sylva Hanson nominated Dan Stern, seconded by Ben Boardman.
- -Dan Stern nominated Bradley Brown, seconded by Katie Manske.
- -Sylva Hanson nominated Michelle Gunther, seconded by Ben Boardman.
- -Sylva Hanson nominated Laura Aleckson, second by Dan Stern.
- -Sylva Hanson nominated Brandt Young, Second by Katie Manske.
- -Katie Manske nominated James Ebert, Second by Sylava Hanson.

Caucus Chairman Stanton asked if there were any other nominations. He then asked an additional three times. There were no other nominations for Village Trustee. Hearing none, Stanton announced that the nominations for Village Trustee were closed.

Ben Boardman motioned to adjourn the Caucus, seconded by Dan Stern. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

The Caucus adjourned at 5:45 PM.

Jamie North Village Clerk